Questions about being attacking for lack-of-beliefs.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
19-04-2011, 07:06 PM
Questions about being attacking for lack-of-beliefs.
I am not very good at trying to give physics lessons to 5 year olds (meaning, trying to explain to Christians about their heros, Kent Hovind, Walt Brown and how their 'theories' or lack thereof, are in serious error), however, I am frequently questioned about my lack-of-beliefs.

- The common argument is the lawgiver one that is now being used. Apparently, atheists are still Christians because we have morals. Not sure how to handle that one. Sad

- Another one is that the speed of light isn't consistent. This was raised by a Christian, which I debunked time and time again. Christians apparently have 'proof' the speed of light was faster in the past, but of course, they didn't have any equipment that can measure it 2,000 years ago.

- I have a serious problem with people who take Genesis 1 and 2 literally, then take other parts metaphorically. How can one expect to defend against such blatant mistakes? If I had a math problem, like this:

3x - y^2 = 12

Should I take the x literally, and discard the y? If I the above math problem anything other than literally, the answer would be false. People are supposed to take the entire bible literally, every word. (Revelation says you should, the bible is the word of god, and word of god is infallible). So when they discard horrible things like slaughtering of newborns, they say that's not what it means. I don't quite get that (at all)

- When I question the abundance of other religions, they are discarded and then they say unknowns are saved. (I have no idea where this comes from, a verse in the bible?)

- "I'll pray for you" .. Nuff said.

- What about the 'science agrees with the bible' nonsense? I was told 'Scientists agree with religion' but I cannot find a shred of evidence of anyone (credible!) saying this.