Questions, questions, so many questions

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
05-10-2013, 09:26 AM
Questions, questions, so many questions
Hello fellow Atheists
I admit to having lurked here for a few weeks now and not posting anything of great importance but I now approach you all with some trepidation.
I am a Brit living in France and am of average intelligence. I am no philosopher and do find some of the threads here somewhat intimating intellectually but, nonetheless, very stimulating (even if I have to look up some of the words!).
My background is fairly benign Methodism; I went to church with my parents and sister and brother pretty much every Sunday until I was about 13 when I decided I didn’t like the ‘holier than thou’ or perhaps ‘petit bourgeois’ attitude of the kids in Sunday school and refused to go any longer. I’m sure that it wasn’t the’ God question’ that stopped me but my timidity and feeling that I didn’t come up to scratch with them. I hated the uncomfortable feeling they gave me.
Religion was never rammed down my throat but I was aware that my parents were believers.
I have never really considered religion (or the lack thereof) as being important to my daily life and went along in my own merry, kind, courteous, tolerant way. I did know that my sister from a very early age (she is only 18 months younger than me) was of a like mind to me but we never really had much discussion about it. It just wasn’t important.
However, recently, I was shocked to discover that nearly half of Americans believe in a young earth.