Rant on overly religious friends

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
09-03-2015, 11:42 PM
Rant on overly religious friends
I bet everyone here in one way or another had this problem before.

I knew long time friends (10 years) who were absolutely great friends up until they found out about my lack of believe. I've never really advertise that I am an atheist. Everyone in my workplace (I'm a molecular bio PhD student) automatically assumes that I am. My long time friend however had a big problem with that. I came from a Muslim country where we had to declare our religion and have that printed on our ID. I was a "Christian" something that was just stuck on my ID from my teen days of trying to find my identity. I wasn't a devote Christian in any sense. I came from a Buddhist family, I went to church once in a while, and I thought the Revelation was a pretty bad fantasy short story. Back then my behavior is often overlook because I identify as a Christian (or maybe we were young and God is not as important as that cute guy that sits next to us).

However, lately the evangelizing have gotten pretty bad. What started off as a mild you need to start reading the bible or go to church has become you are being tempted by Satan and you'll burn for eternity if you keep it up. They have obvious problems with my career choice. Scientist are Satan's minion. We are there to deceive innocent human and lead them away from God.