Refuting "Evolution refuted" video

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
08-01-2013, 03:29 PM
Refuting "Evolution refuted" video
Today Seth posted this video on the TTA facebook page: http://youtu.be/A8VCunAkVDc
Check it out as it's somewhat entertaining. The video is pretty well produced and I think it can confuse a lot of people who did not come from a scientific background. Like Seth says in many of his speeches, don't just believe everything that I say even though I have a degree in biology. Go out and do the research for yourself. A simple google search can show you the answers.

Anyway, here it is:

In the video, the producer makes two arguments:
1. Life has never been observed to come from non-life.
2. There is no known observable process by which new genetic information can be added to the genetic code of the organism.

Both of these are false, especially the second one and here is why:

#1 is somewhat true. We have never been able to observe that life has been able to come from non-living things. However, we have been able to observe the building blocks of life being able to come from non-living things. We can all agree that proteins are the basic building blocks of life, and proteins are made up of long chains of molecules called amino acids. Life on earth utilizes 20 amino acids but there are many more than that that occur in nature.