Religion in the classroom

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
12-09-2013, 09:46 AM
Religion in the classroom
I work as a Biology teacher and in my college classes I could never get a straight answer as to how to handle 'religion' in the classroom. I am strongly atheist, but also work in the middle of Kansas, so feel like I have to walk on eggshells with these topics. Here's a few examples:

A student says: the bible says "insert quote here," so (evolution, the big bang, age of the earth, etc) are not true!

I, many times, want to reply with, "the bible also says we can own slaves, kill children, and stone any women that aren't virgins when they marry."

Their textbooks also like to point out that scientists such as Gregor Mendel were monks, but fail to address how religion has negatively affected scientific progress.

Am I within my bounds to say/discuss such topics? It could easily be construed as anti-religious.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user Likes jaguar3030's post
12-09-2013, 09:58 AM (This post was last modified: 12-09-2013 10:04 AM by DLJ.)
RE: Religion in the classroom
Perhaps:

"1. This is a science class.

2. Please provide scientific evidence of your claims and we can discuss them as such, otherwise... this is not a mythology class.

3. We don't teach alchemy or astrology or creation anymore; we teach chemistry, cosmology, physics and biology.

4. The best thing the early church ever did was set up the first (European) universities.

5. If the bible says "insert quote here," so (evolution, the big bang, age of the earth, etc) are not true! we can trust illiterate bronze-age goat-herding desert dwellers or we can look at the actual evidence and determine that the bible may contain a few errors. What do you think?"

[+] 1 user Likes DLJ's post
12-09-2013, 10:09 AM
You maybe could reply with the science end of things and find ways of explaining it that make sense.