Religious Future Mother-in-Law = Deal Breaker?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
18-11-2013, 11:00 AM
Sad Religious Future Mother-in-Law = Deal Breaker?
Hey, so this is an issue that's making me feel sick and I can't seem to get clarity on how to handle. I'm sort of a newbie here (this is only my second post) so I'm hoping I'm using the forum correctly.
A little background: from the 8th grade until I was 22 I was an extremely devout born-again Christian (went to Christian university, got Christian tattoos, worked for a non-profit Christian organization, led youth/young adults groups at my church, no pre-marital sex, etc.). I got married at 20 to a boyfriend I'd had since I was 16 and found myself, at 21 in a completely sexless, emotionally abusive, controlling relationship that led to a divorce and was the catalyst that started my search for truth.
Fast forward to today: I'm 26, newly atheist (I've been agnostic and doing a LOT of reading for the last 4 years), and have been in a relationship for a year and half with a guy I've known for 11 years and who was raised in a Mormon family.
He and I are mostly on the same page when it comes to our beliefs (when we started dating he was agnostic and hadn't gone to church in years and as I've continued to research and share with him, he has slowly been coming to the conclusion that there is probably no god). His mom, however, is a DEVOUT Mormon. Over the past year she has inundated me with texts, phone calls, and in person conversations about the religion and it has been very clear to me that she desperately wants her son to return to church and for me to convert. While I understand where she's coming from, as I was once a very committed believer in the god of the Bible, it's been wearing me down.