Religious Read "More Than Meets The Eye"

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
01-08-2017, 09:39 AM
Religious Read "More Than Meets The Eye"
More Than Meets The Eye by Dr Richard Swenson

This book was given to me by my Father in-law. A devout Christian, but one with understanding that others are different and that not everyone shares the same faith as he.

Let me preface the rest with a little about myself. I am an engineer by day. I love science and I have found it to be the key to life around us. There isn't a question that we just leave unanswered. Sure, many of the questions in the scientific world are unanswered at the moment, but the perseverance and integrity that helps science carry it's merit will eventually reveal the answers we are looking for. Then we will delve deeper for more questions and more answers. This is my "faith" that i follow.

Back to the In-laws. The book came with a note stating that this book has great potential to give me an insight into how science and god work together. "From strings and quarks to black holes and super novas". I was skeptical, read the book.... STILL SKEPTICAL! I know, it's a shocker....

Anyway, let's get on to the point. Has anyone else read this? What were your thoughts?

I'm working to put together a response to my Father In-law and I am stuck between a rock and a hard place. I have an extreme amount of respect for the man. He truly is a great person, and a role model for me. I do feel like I would like to propose the same situation to him by sending him a book that would be entertaining to me yet non-offensive for him. Any suggestions? I don't want to run straight to "The God Delusion", or "God is not Great" as that would be a bit of a slap to the face.

Thank you in advance for any advice and suggestions![/b]

Cheers!

P.S. I am new to the forums here, please let me know if there is a category for this type of reading/posts already.

Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)

Find all posts by this user