Require Help in this debate

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
27-01-2015, 01:53 PM
Require Help in this debate
So I'm a newbie here but I've read some of y'alls posts and think you can help me.

Problem:
I recently discovered my friend is a Young Earth Creationists. This is by no means her fault as she was raised and home schooled by two (very) closed minded Young Earth Creationist. I have been attempting to prove to her that evolution has provided a more satisfactory answer to life on earth and that the Earth (and by proxy the Universe) is way older than 6000-10000 yrs old. So far my evidence has included the fossil record (which she says she doesn't trust due to inconsistencies with carbon dating), light from the stars I gave her the equation (time=distance/speed(of light)) as well as the distance of some well known stars. But I don't know what else to give her. Any ideas?

"With the first link the chain is forged. The first speech censored, the first thought forbidden, the first freedom denied chains us all irrevocably." -Jean Luc Picard quoting Judge Aaron Satie
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user Likes Monkeygirl96's post
27-01-2015, 02:52 PM
RE: Require Help in this debate
Most fossils are way too old to date with carbon-14 and there is nothing wrong with C-14 dating or the other dating methods for dating older fossils. The NCSE has a section on refuting these lame attempts by YECs that I highly recommend. Also, Donald Prothero's book Evolution: What the Fossils Say and Why it Matters just lays waste to to creationists with a great set of facts and historical perspectives (Seth's podcast with him is excellent as well as Jerry Coyne's). I these sources are great if you are going to be engaging YECs.
27-01-2015, 02:54 PM
Ask her who is more credible?

Stephen Hawking - who can do the math, and show the size and age of the known universe ---