Resisting Religious Pressure on Campus

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
12-08-2013, 10:27 PM
Resisting Religious Pressure on Campus
Hi all! New to the forum, long time podcast listener, but I've never really had an experience that would warrant me to come here to share and, I suppose, back-up on my stance on the issue. I'm an incoming freshman at a secular state university that recieved this email just a few days before I move in on Saturday:

Christians on Campus warmly welcomes you to campus!

We are a registered student organization on campus and our goal is to provide you with a loving Christian community where we can freely pursue and experience the Lord Jesus together.

Join us and other incoming freshmen for our Freshman Connect event on Tuesday, August 20 at 5:00 PM on the 3rd floor of the Student Union for dinner and activities.

Register now at our website: http://www.ChristiansOnCampus.org

See you soon!

Christians on Campus

To which I sent this reply:

Hello Christians on Campus,

First of all, thank you for the welcome to campus! That being said, I'd like very much to be taken off of the listserv or CC for this group so that I don't receive any more emails and would like to know exactly how I was selected to get this email in the first place. On such a culturally diverse campus, it would shock me that every incoming student would get an email from Christians on Campus, and it alarms me that such presumptions would be made if I was selected from any other criteria. Why me? Who else was sent this message? Is it because I'm black??

I have nothing against your organization, but your no doubt well-intentioned message might not seem so welcoming to a student that is by their own religious affiliation (or non-affiliation) excluded from the club, from this golden opportunity to connect with your "loving Christian community" where they can "freely pursue and experience the Lord Jesus".