Scared and depressed

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
02-12-2013, 10:33 PM
Scared and depressed
This is so pathetic, but I need help. I'm scared. I am more depressed and anxious than ever. The last three nights I've laid in my room weeping, hitting and scratching myself, panicking, fighting to remind myself to stay alive. I lay there so scared, knowing that I want to do it and I feel like I cant stop it. I feel so hopeless and trapped and out of control and sad and it's the only thing I can do unless there is some party thing happening where I can go socialize.

I've been depressed for a few years now. I've regularly physically harmed myself starting this year, and my suicidal thoughts have been increasing. I am a creative writer and blogger, and some days I'm so inspired and feeling pretty decent, despite feeling depressed. Writing has been the thing to keep me going and it gives me something to be satisfied with. I was doing so well when I first arrived to this new city. Depressing thoughts only came about once or twice per month in the summer, if that. But then the fall came and I started feeling anxious and trapped in my housekeeping job, as you might be able to imagine. It's a tourist town so most jobs are in the hotel or hospitality industry. I've been applying for jobs, but it's the slow season so I may not get a new one until January or February. I've made a few friends and they either need to continue travelling which is okay, but I feel like I can never really connect with the people that have stayed here longer. I am a very independent, introvert type of person and I prefer being alone and I hate being vulnerable, but I still want to feel close with some people. I just feel like I push people away without even trying and it frustrates and upsets me.