Secular Homeschool

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
18-11-2014, 05:16 AM
Secular Homeschool
Hi Everyone,

I've been listening to the podcast for years, but this is my first time posting here. My wife and I are looking for secular homeschool options now that our oldest is getting close to that age. Can anyone suggest good options? We are in south-central PA.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
18-11-2014, 06:05 AM
RE: Secular Homeschool
(18-11-2014 05:16 AM)Osprey1984 Wrote:  Hi Everyone,

I've been listening to the podcast for years, but this is my first time posting here. My wife and I are looking for secular homeschool options now that our oldest is getting close to that age. Can anyone suggest good options? We are in south-central PA.

I am curious as to why you want to home school.

Skepticism is not a position; it is an approach to claims.
Science is not a subject, but a method.
[Image: flagstiny%206.gif]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
18-11-2014, 07:47 AM (This post was last modified: 18-11-2014 07:55 AM by Bows and Arrows.)
I am not certain, but I think PA has a cyberschool option. So you get the basics and as parents you can add more in. Also there are a variety of other online options, including online private schools that children who are athletes or travel extensively use (Laurel Springs)

There are also pre packaged curriculums you can buy, or you can build each piece on your own. (math u can see)

I have known quite a few homeschoolers, some secular, some religious. After hearing of their experiences, I think its important to take an annual standardized test that is scored to a national norm. You need some objective feedback, to not do it, is a diservice to your child. IOWA, ERB, etc.

You can also use your local public school for the clubs and sometimes the related arts classes like music, PE, etc because while you are homeschooling, your tax dollars are still funding the program.