Secularism and Political Philosophy

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
24-06-2016, 04:23 PM
Secularism and Political Philosophy
Just a quick thought. I am new to the secular movement, but my political views -- for many different reasons -- are decidedly on the right. I've noticed that most of the prominent people (I am not sure about the "rank and file" yet) in the movement are radical leftists. Why on earth do so many atheists align themselves with the left? Having an advanced degree in economics from the University of Virginia, that subject ALONE should swing secularists to the right. Of course there is the supremely notable exception of Ayn Rand and her philosophy of Objectivism, but they aren't easy to find.

I am merely curious. Please try not to get too upset with me.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
24-06-2016, 04:26 PM
RE: Secularism and Political Philosophy
(24-06-2016 04:23 PM)Belinda Wrote:  Just a quick thought. I am new to the secular movement, but my political views -- for many different reasons -- are decidedly on the right. I've noticed that most of the prominent people (I am not sure about the "rank and file" yet) in the movement are radical leftists. Why on earth do so many atheists align themselves with the left? Having an advanced degree in economics from the University of Virginia, that subject ALONE should swing secularists to the right. Of course there is the supremely notable exception of Ayn Rand and her philosophy of Objectivism, but they aren't easy to find.

Atheists tend to be higher educated and white this also corresponds with being Liberal. May I ask why you think 30 years of failed policy should convince people that the right should be trusted with any economy?

(31-07-2014 04:37 PM)Luminon Wrote:  America is full of guns, but they're useless, because nobody has the courage to shoot an IRS agent in self-defense
[+] 9 users Like Revenant77x's post
24-06-2016, 04:32 PM