Sharing my atheism with my younger sister?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
14-05-2015, 09:26 AM
Sharing my atheism with my younger sister?
Hello...this is my first time posting anything here although I've had many things I've wanted to put up. XD I've never had the guts to do it! So here it goes, sorry that it's kinda long...

I have a predicament.
I am 18 and still live with my deeply religious, fundamental Christian family.
Homeschool, homechurch, the whole nine.
I am currently in the closet with my atheism and I am trying to wait for a good time to come out. I am planning on moving out of my parents home in early 2017, and with that, I will also come out as an anti-theist.

My atheism has been leaking from the seems and I can't stop it. I hate living a lie. But I am so scared of coming out while I am still under my parents roof.
With that, my parents are worried about me and see my doubt. As does everyone at our little homechurch. I hardly even talk and it just shows through.

My question is about my 11 year old sister. Me and her are really close and I know it would be so easy to get her to think about god and realize that he just isn't there. I could just ask 'so why do you believe in god?' And she would see that her reasoning (that she doesn't know any different) is flawed. She is smart. And I know that she would be dazzled with things like Evolution. I don't want her to have to grow up like I did, half loving god and half hating him because of what he has done and expects me to do if I follow him as my fundie family would have me.
It has caused me so much pain to leave the faith. I am extremely depressed and frequently entertain thoughts of suicide and I'm on the verge of self harm. I try to convince myself that neither is the solution to my problems, but it is so incredibly tempting.

Should I wait (and save myself) to tell my sister about my beliefs and let her form more attachments to god as she hits puberty?