Should your opinions outside the workplace get you fired?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
22-01-2014, 10:01 AM
Should your opinions outside the workplace get you fired?
I personally think once you step off the premises your employer should have absolutely no right to interfere with what you think or say. I don't care how much it's against their own opinions/beliefs. Work should stay at work.

Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user Likes BrokenQuill92's post
22-01-2014, 10:08 AM
RE: Should your opinions outside the workplace get you fired?
It depends on the relationship between your feelings and your job.

I am a journalist. You bet I am careful what I say about politics in public (even though I don't cover politics except in limited circumstances). My views have a direct effect on my reputation as being an impartial observer and chronicler of events.

The pastor of a church has no expectation that he can live for a year as an atheist and keep his job as a pastor.

It depends on the job.

If I flip burgers at McDonald's, or even if I manage one, I would expect to have considerably more freedom, so long as my views do not intersect with my job duties (eg, if I declare I will not hire homosexuals because I don't agree with their lifestyle, that's not just a personal view -- it's a job performance/civil rights matter).

It depends on the job.

If I work for a school and in my spare time I edit the monthly publication of the North American Man Boy Love Association, I can expect to lose my job.

It depends on the job.
Find all posts by this user
[+] 4 users Like TwoCultSurvivor's post
22-01-2014, 10:25 AM
Depends on the job and the opinions.

[Image: RPYH95t.png]
[+] 2 users Like The Germans are coming's post
22-01-2014, 11:06 AM