Soon to be father-in-law wants me to have a sit down with his pastor...

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
07-03-2014, 12:04 AM
Soon to be father-in-law wants me to have a sit down with his pastor...
This is my first time posting to any forum and I hope I keep it brief enough.

My soon to be father-in-law recently found out that I am atheist, and also found out that his daughter is now an atheist. He has requested that we have a 3 hour sit down meeting with his pastor (Lutheran church) before our wedding day or he will not walk my wife to be down the aisle (which she wants very much).

I am more than willing to participate in this long discussion, but I was hoping some members of this community would have some words of advice. Both of us grew up in very religious homes and every member of the family is extremely religious. We have just recently come out as being atheist and most of the family doesn't know yet, only a few people.

While I am reasonably educated on science, religions of the world, and our family religion, I have little to no experience discussing this anyone.

I would really appreciate perhaps a few good conversation starters or tips on how to more clearly communicate with someone in that position. This man has been a pastor for like 40 years or more. Any advice that may be helpful in that situation would be sincerely appreciated. Thank you all in advance.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user Likes bl510's post
07-03-2014, 01:25 AM
RE: Soon to be father-in-law wants me to have a sit down with his pastor...
Wow, does the FIL really believe you're going to convert because of sitting with a pastor?
Most likely the other way around will happen.

[Image: v0jpzpT.png]
[+] 1 user Likes Alex_Leonardo's post
07-03-2014, 01:32 AM
Very general advice here, not knowing many particulars.