South Korean Christian Assulted My Girlfriend

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
07-06-2012, 11:52 PM
South Korean Christian Assulted My Girlfriend
So I'm an American English teacher and I've been living in South Korea for 4 years. For much of that time I've been in a relationship with a Korean woman named Michelle. I'm an atheist, and though she was raised Buddhist she's a free thinker and doesn't really adhere to the religion she grew up in. And neither of us can stand Korean Christians.

They are often found waiting outside subways or in the train stations, wearing yellow sashes with giant red crosses while hawking their beliefs with tracts and shouts of vitriol. They've come up to me several times during my stay here and I've always shooed them off sternly. But my girlfriend isn't as assertive as I am.

The other night she was going home after seeing me and as usual there was a large group of Christians chanting, praying, and passing out leaflets to passersby. As Michelle walked by them, an older woman tried to give her a pamphlet, which Michelle refused. The woman followed her briefly, claiming my girlfriend was going to hell and that she was in grave need of "God's blessing". When Michelle refused to react the woman struck her across the back. Fear gripped her and she started running for her bus with the Christian woman shouting at her about accepting Jesus. She phoned me as soon as she got home and told me what happened. I knew Korean Christians were a VERY passionate and evangelical bunch, but I never thought one would hit my girlfriend just for refusing to take a fucking leaflet!!!!!