Stick to my guns and fail or compromise and pass?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
02-06-2011, 06:23 AM

Stick to my guns and fail or compromise and pass?
I'm an atheist college student who's taking a course in the fall that will be focused on fiction about "global catastrophes and the struggle to survive and rebuild civilization afterward." I'm looking forward to it, though I have some worry: if the prof is evangelistic and this study of apocalyptic fiction is used to bring up his own beliefs, how do I stand firm against crazy beliefs without damaging my grade?
Quote this message in a reply
02-06-2011, 07:32 AM
RE: Stick to my guns and fail or compromise and pass?
(02-06-2011 06:23 AM)Dave from PA Wrote:  I'm an atheist college student who's taking a course in the fall that will be focused on fiction about "global catastrophes and the struggle to survive and rebuild civilization afterward." I'm looking forward to it, though I have some worry: if the prof is evangelistic and this study of apocalyptic fiction is used to bring up his own beliefs, how do I stand firm against crazy beliefs without damaging my grade?

State your beliefs openly and have a dialogue. I went to a catholic college and all of my professors were religious folks but they were always up for some healthy debate and open discussion. Hell, my best and most enjoyable talks were with a nun! If you are negatively graded because of your lack of religious views and this was evident, that is the basis for a formal complaint to the school and I'd have no problem taking it to the top and demanding something be done. I don't think you'll have much of a problem though.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
02-06-2011, 07:51 AM
Stick to your guns , no doubt about it.
If you back down , you'll look down upon yourself later.
And if the professor discriminates against you for your own beliefs or lack thereof then you can easily report him to the administration.