Surprised by offence taken by expressing an atheist/skeptic view

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
18-09-2016, 05:25 AM
Surprised by offence taken by expressing an atheist/skeptic view
Hi everyone, I'm new on this forum and actually did not expect I would ever have reason to post something. I am an atheist living in Belgium, which is a very secular country (one of the few where you can legally get euthanasia), so I never experienced being an atheist as something special. I am your typical armchair atheist and armchair skeptic and besides trying to inform anti-vaxxers (I'm a physician) I don't really engage people. I assumed that most of my friends were also atheists.

I was very surprised then by two episodes of discussions I had with good friends of mine. In one instance I declared that religiosity would be a deal breaker for me in a romantic relationship. My secular friends were quite shocked, saying that I was being unreasonable and intolerant. Even though they were not religious, they still seemed to take offence to my statement, which I still don't understand.