TTA T-shirt Encounters

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
22-07-2010, 09:19 PM

TTA T-shirt Encounters
Has anyone had any interesting encounters triggered by their TTA shirts?

I'm a teacher in Oklahoma, and I attended an AP workshop in Tulsa this week. One of my fellow teachers witnessed about the power of God in her life every day while the rest of us were trying to learn about the AP program. One day during the workshop, I showed up wearing my TTA shirt. All she saw at first was the front, which she gushed about. She thought it was an excellent design for a teacher. We're supposed to inspire creative thinking.
Later, while we were on break, she started telling stories about how God was always protecting her family. With each story about how she and her family came out of accidents unharmed, I asked her about safety equipment like seat belts and helmets. Yes, safety equipment was in use, but she still insisted God protected her family. I dropped the conversation.

She was in line behind me at lunch later that day, and she finally saw the back of my TTA shirt. "I Believe," she read outloud. "How sweet." Then she read the rest of the shirt. Out loud. Slowly. I turned and smiled at her when she was done. She looked at me like I had a haunch of roast baby on my plate. She didn't speak to me for the rest of the workshop. A win for everyone.

Three closeted atheists approached me at the bar that night and we spent the evening discussing the plight of atheist teachers in Oklahoma. It was a good time.
Quote this message in a reply
23-07-2010, 07:12 AM
RE: TTA T-shirt Encounters
Can't say I've had any such encounters, as I don't have any atheist-themed gear, but that's a pretty neat story. Thanks for sharing.

Our brains deceive us on a regular basis, so we have to find ways to fight back.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
23-07-2010, 07:48 AM