Taking Up an Instrument

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
23-05-2017, 01:12 AM
Taking Up an Instrument
I have been considering taking up the violin.

I have read some articles about the correlation between those who play music with an increase in motor-skills, neuroplasticity, and prevention of degenerative diesases. I've seen that there are many benefits to learning how to play an instrument.
I have decided if I pick up the hobby I will do it after I've successfully finished becoming fluent in German.

How many of you play an instrument?
Do any of you play the violin?
Do any of you have an experience with learning how to play an instrument out of your child years and adolescence?
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
23-05-2017, 01:34 AM
RE: Taking Up an Instrument
I play the fiddle. I started learning when I was 12. I have tried to pick up other instruments since, but it's a significant investment of time and effort, and I've not succeeded.

It's quite rewarding even if you don't get too complex and technical. Like most other things, music has endless depth. So you can dabble and make quite nice noises, or you can go as far as you like. I've had good times with all kinds of people I've met through fiddling.

We'll love you just the way you are
If you're perfect -- Alanis Morissette
(06-02-2014 03:47 PM)Momsurroundedbyboys Wrote:  And I'm giving myself a conclusion again from all the facepalming.
[+] 1 user Likes morondog's post
23-05-2017, 01:54 AM

There is only one really serious philosophical question, and that is suicide. -Camus
[+] 1 user Likes GirlyMan's post
23-05-2017, 04:46 AM (This post was last modified: 23-05-2017 05:35 AM by Sturm.)
Great decision, music is my passion and I can barely spend more than 2 days in a row without playing !

I play guitar, piano and a bit of harmonica, even though my harmonica playing isn't very good since I don't have enough time to practice it.