Thank GOD for MY Diabetes

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
16-11-2012, 04:33 PM
Question Thank GOD for MY Diabetes
So, I must start this off with some background. My name is Mike, and I am an atheist. I used to be a fundamentalist Christian in the Vineyard church. I am also a previously ordained youth pastor (volunteer, the church didn't have money to pay me) from 2005-2007, where I unintentionally lied to children a church on the south side of Chicago. I am also a computer programmer, which is what pays the bills.

Additionally, I have not always been a healthy person. I have been - until today actually - classified as clinically obese since I was 10 years old, have had obstructive sleep apnea since 2003, and last October (2011) I was diagnosed with type-II Diabetes with a shocking A1C of 11.9% and fasting blood glucose of 306 mg/dL. At that time I was about 330 pounds (I'm 5'10"). Since then I have dropped down more than 120 pounds (I was under 200 pounds this morning), and I have been taken off of my Diabetes medication. My fasting blood sugar now is usually around 75 mg/dL, and my A1C has dropped to 5.5% (results pending from my test just minutes ago).

I have done this with a year's worth of very meticulous record keeping, lifestyle changes, and a lot of running (about 637 miles so far in 2012). So... imagine the bruise on my face when I heard someone tell me this:
Quote: Thank GOD for your gift of Diabetes, it scared you off of the couch! Isn't GOD good?
This individual was perplexed then when I asked where their god was when I was sweating. I asked how much Calorie counting this deity did, how much running, walking, aching, soreness, etc, their god had engaged in on my behalf. How could a good god who loved me give me a lifetime sentence of this chronic condition that would never go away?