The Big Thread of Science questions and Answers

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
04-06-2012, 01:38 PM
The Big Thread of Science questions and Answers
I have seen a few threads pop-up in recent weeks about specific science questions and I have started a few threads with descriptions of particular scientific principles (which go largely by the wayside). Because of this, I thought that a thread dedicated to asking questions would be beneficial and would reduce the need to start a new thread every time someone wants to know what evolution is or radiometric dating or quantum theory, etc. This way these questions can be addressed without filling up the science section with short threads and new threads in science can be dedicated to other matters.

I am no expert in all of science but I can probably do a good job describing:
-General Geology (like sedimentology, volcanology, seismology)
-Geochemistry (stable and radiometric isotopes. Including radiometric dating techniques)
-Evolution (from a paleontological perspective mainly. Gradualism vs. Punctuated Equilibrium)

And other ideas and concepts related to these. There are several other individuals on the site who would be capable of describing math and statistics in good detail (I can do statistics fairly well) and at least a few people who are more adept at biology than myself (I tend to only like living things long after they are dead and turned to stone.)

So, anyone out there got any questions?

Evolve
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user Likes TheBeardedDude's post
04-06-2012, 02:17 PM
RE: The Big Thread of Science questions and Answers
Here's an easy one just to start things off...
If Doc Hubble with his red shirt on the night shift is right that the universe is accelarating apart, why the fuck are they telling us that the Andromeda galaxy is on a collision course with earth?

04-06-2012, 02:20 PM
Why is the sky blue? Smile