The Great Satan - Religion is Bad M'Kay

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 4 Average
01-08-2010, 08:07 AM
The Great Satan - Religion is Bad M'Kay
Hey, erbody.

I'm a social scientist. I study politics, history, psychology as well as communications and human relations. I'm also passionate about memetics. So basically, I'm always trying to determine how we wacky social animals tick. Free will aside, there are a number of mechanisms that govern how human society works. Nothing works 'just cause'.

A lot of Atheists speak of two things (I recognise that this is a generalisation). First, they say that religion is a poison, a viral agent, a destructive force in the human mind that we are better off without. Secondly, they say that religion is responsible for pretty much every war that's ever happened.

So my question is this. Can anyone back these ideas up. ie, is it good science or just unsupported rhetoric?

In what way is religion toxic and why would the human race be better without it?

In what way is religion responsible for war and would war be eliminated if religion was eliminated?

I'm hoping to move past spin and talking points and get down to the nitty gritty. If someone asks me how psychopathy works or how information is communicated from one entity to another or why revolution is an inevitable outcome of hierarchical society, I can explain it. I can't explain why religion causes war or why humans are better off without religion (specifically, why these are qualities are exclusive to religion and why other belief systems seem exempt from the same scrutiny). So let's talk mechanics.

Peace and Love and Empathy,

Matt
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
01-08-2010, 08:37 AM

RE: The Great Satan - Religion is Bad M'Kay