The Santa issue

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
13-11-2013, 05:13 PM
The Santa issue
Hello, I'm new to TTA forums and I find this subject interesting because I'm a lifelong atheist, who is also a lifelong Christmas celebrator, and a lifelong Santa advocate.

Here I will share my experiences with Santa, and I hope others share theirs, especially in regards to how they have/plan to deal with the subject with their children or future children.

First, I'll share the most interesting Santa related story I know, what happened to my mom.
When my mom was in 8th grade, she got in a huge argument at school with one of her classmates (And I think there were less than 50 kids in her entire school). The subject of this argument? Santa's existence! My mom valiantly defended Santa, telling her classmates that Santa is real! She went home that night and told her mom (my grandma) about this fight, and my grandma came clean to her that night. She Told my mom that Santa was not real, and where the presents came from and all. My mom felt incredibly betrayed, angry, and embarassed. She lost some trust in her parents over that. My mom says because of that experience, she promised herself that she would never lie to her kids about Santa. And that may even have to do with why she started questioning catholicism in the first place.

Now, we didn't live a life without Santa growing up. That was part of the Christmas tradition! However, my mom made a point to never push Santa as a fact. She did however suggest Santa by telling the story. And our presents (to this day, and I'm in my 20s) are signed "from santa". Basically Santa is part of the tradition and "magic" of Christmas. I never believed it was real, but that isn't important. That doesn't mean it isn't fun!