The orthodox in the library

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
04-10-2015, 06:10 AM
The orthodox in the library
So I'm about to turn 24. A birthday makes me reflect on the past year and I've basically had my life completely crash down around me. I finished grad school about three months ago and got a job offer a few weeks later for what I thought was my dream job. A week after I started my job I moved into a one bedroom apartment on my own for the first time at the prompting of my family, three miles from my job which was about two hours from them. It's now my second month on the job and the stress and nervousness I'm experiencing are to much for me to deal with. Let me give you a rundown of my situation.

I'm a full time librarian. While I was in grad school I worked in a children's library, a job which I came to love. But I did grad school so fast when I realized this, my courses had already been selected for the year. So I can't make a librarian career change. I'm pretty confused overall. Every librarian I know has been telling me I need to stay in this job for a year. But I can't, the stress is getting to me. Now I don't know what to do. I'm quitting my job and moving back in with my parents which had led to massive identity issue. The main reason I want to quit is because the job has resurged my depression, last week I was even thinking of suicide.

I can't eat. I can't sleep. I'm always nervous. Everything I do is wrong in the eyes of my supervisor and it's not just a simple "oh you should try this instead." She knows I'm new to the field. I'm an entry level employee.