"The point, that changes you"

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
01-09-2011, 06:54 AM
Question "The point, that changes you"
Hi, i'm new to the Forum and after long searching i couldn't find a better place to ask a important question.

My parents always tell me, when we talk about my atheism, that once in life there will be a special point or happening, kind of wonder, which will show me that there actually is a god.

I'm 17 at the moment and don't have the experience in live to judge about that so i ask you, especially the more experienced poeple, what do you think about that and did you have had any experiences like that jet?

If this isnt the right place for this topic please move it or let me know and i'll repost ist Smile

If there are grammatical or spelling mistakes please let me know, im still learning english Wink

There are only two things which are endless: The universe an human stupidity, although with the human stupidity i'm not sure.

Albert Einstein
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2011, 07:02 AM
RE: "The point, that changes you"
If your parents are very religious, they may still cling to a hope like that in order for your salvation in the future. I can understand their grief over a "lost child" if belief is very important to them.

I'm turning 40 next year, and the older I get, and the more life experience of all sorts I get, the more convinced I become that there really are no higher power pulling strings (not that I even doubted it at any point). I've had plenty enough of life altering experiences that could have sent me into belief, but no.

"Never underestimate how narrow-minded, petty and stupid people can be". Mark Fulton, forum member
01-09-2011, 07:13 AM
My dad is more religious than my mom, he just doesn't ask questions. my mum is more open for my ideas and opinions, but she's also sure that i'm just an atheist because i'm a teenager and i will change my mind when i grow older.