The prevalence of Religion today, and its future in society.

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 4 Average
27-05-2011, 06:35 PM

Wink The prevalence of Religion today, and its future in society.
I'm an atheist and I don't come from any sort of religious background. I'm a student in the UK and have pretty much been spared any sort of religious indoctrination so far. When I was younger we sang Christian hymns in primary school/infant school and would occasionally visit the church, but only ever for charity events. Aside from hymns and the odd church visit, my education has been relatively clear of religion, aside from Religious Studies where obviously we learnt about the religions albeit in a clear and unbiased way. If anything I've been very apathetic about religion all my life, I've never really given it much thought (until lately!).

When I started to listen to the TTA podcasts I started to become aware of how other countries, in particular America were significantly more religious than we are and how religion was a big topic during childhood and development. I had always figured that'd be the case, but never to the level of magnitude of the USA. It made me start to wonder what the future holds for religion in different countries - pretty much everyone I know is atheist. There are a few Christians but they are heavily outnumbered by people who don't have any religious affiliation. It also made me wonder what values future generations are going to be learning - as I said, I'm a student and pretty much every other student I know doesn't believe in God. 99% of students who do seem to have come from families who were already religious. Perhaps the science focused curriculum of today is actually helping people question things and think rationally at a younger age, which is an excellent possibility. There are a lot of churches and religious groups here but popularity seems to be dwindling as future/newer generations believe less and less.