The problem with fundamentalism...

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
24-04-2017, 03:32 PM (This post was last modified: 24-04-2017 07:56 PM by Cosmo.)
The problem with fundamentalism...
Now... before I start typing the rest of this out I first of all actually guess I should say hello since I'm brand new. Lol I literally just thought about doing that right now. I'm Cosmo! Great to meet all of you! Smile

I'm a freshly converted agnostic in that I have absolutely no idea what's going on behind the potentially non-existent curtain. I've only been this way since March 2016. I feel like I'm pretty new to this. My parents still don't know, and I know it would crush them if they found out, because then they would think I'm off to 'hell.'

What an absolute crock of hilariously contemptible cow sputum that is.

Anyways.

There are limits to the capacities of what we can know, and this is where humanity finds room for whatever Higher Power brings them the most mental comfort. For the most part this doesn't have to be such a harmful thing. People believe in whatever they want to and go about their lives in a relatively harmless manner.

That's fine.

For the most part this has allowed me the joy of carrying out my atheism quietly. I live in Canada, surrounded by an entirely Christian family. I've stopped going to church, so they know something's up, but they just think that my relationship with God is in a bad place or something, and they'll silently infer every once in a while that I should come to their church. I politely decline, close my eyes at prayer time, say amen when it's over, keep them semi convinced, and the world spins onward. Religion doesn't have any effect on my day to day life except for when people try to convert me to their respective religious ways of thinking. And I can deal with all of it.