Thoughts on alternative medicine

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
11-03-2016, 09:56 PM
Thoughts on alternative medicine
Hi everybody!
So being a recent graduate I'm doing what I can to pay rent. One of my several jobs is at a trendy juice/smoothie bar that's attached to a vitamin/supplement/healthy lifestyle store with a naturopathic clinic in the back. As the only skeptic on staff, sometimes I struggle with knowing which claims are true and which are total bs. Any thoughts on how I should navigate my time there? I want to be a good employee (and I make awesome smoothies) but I don't want to be dishonest to people, and some of them have health questions that I've been instructed to answer in a way that I'm unsure is true (example: butter and coconut oil in coffee promote brain function).
Also, I know the placebo effect is powerful but I question the ethics of relying on it for symptom relief. What are your opinions?
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user Likes debna27's post
12-03-2016, 01:21 AM
RE: Thoughts on alternative medicine
I think there is no such thing as "alternative medicine" as there is only one medicine - constantly tested and working. "Alternative" one seems to be bunch of more or less shady practices that may or may not help and in worst case hurt by preventing one from visiting doctor.

As for ethical aspect I could not lie to people for a living as I have dim view of dishonesty in professional setting. Being good employee means nothing to me if in order to be it I must deceive others - it was one of my reasons for quitting the work in retail and never seeking another in such field.

The first revolt is against the supreme tyranny of theology, of the phantom of God. As long as we have a master in heaven, we will be slaves on earth.

Mikhail Bakunin.
[+] 3 users Like Szuchow's post
12-03-2016, 01:28 AM
(11-03-2016 09:56 PM)debna27 Wrote:  Hi everybody!