US Military Officer

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
24-06-2013, 07:38 PM
US Military Officer
Hello everyone out there,

I'm a little new to this whole forum thing, and I've never been one for posting my feelings, opinions, or thoughts on the internet in general. I am an officer in the United States Army and recently returned from a tour in Afghanistan. I'm 24 years old and have been a confirmed atheist for only about 3 months, but have been reading and agreeing with atheist literature and outspoken atheists (Hitchens, Dawkins, NDT, Sagan, etc.) for several years. It took a long time for me to finally drop the leash that my family had indoctrinated onto me over 20 years (strict conservative presbyterian). I guess the point where i totally lost the faith was when one of my soldiers was killed by a roadside bomb on our very last mission. He was a born leader and one of the greatest assets to our military. It was at this point that i started getting belligerent to my friends and family who said things like "we thank God you got home safe" or "we're keeping you in our prayers" or "God answered our prayers because you didn't get hurt". My immediate mental process was to yell "Why were your prayers for me anymore important than the prayers people were saying for my soldier? What made me so special that I got to live?" There is no way a loving God could have let this happen to such a wonderful individual. My wife of two years was raised a Lutheran, but considers herself more of a Deist/Evolutionary Theist (believes a creator started evolution). I consider myself on the fence between completely noninterventionist deism and atheism (but I'm most definitely anti-theist). Sometimes my wife and I will get into arguments over my cynicism toward religion, mainly because she still enjoys the traditions and rituals of her Lutheran upbringing. I love her more than anything, and realize that sometimes it's on me to live and let live instead of constantly being angry at my own