Uhm... what?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
02-07-2014, 09:06 PM
Uhm... what?
So I'm debating things elsewhere <whistles innocently> and came across a phrase in a counter to me.

"The phrase, 'Extraordinary claims require extraordinary proof/evidence,' suggests the contiguity of metaphysical essentialism."

Up until this point I understood every word the other person was saying. Then my brain melted. I tried to look up the individual terms, the phrase as a whole, but I can't make heads nor tails of what the heck this is supposed to mean, or why it is "fallacious reasoning because no human organism or even a super computer can truly decipher this or even describe it".

Sadcryface

I admit I'm a philosophy noob.

Incidentally, I half suspect the person who used it (who repeated it twice without explanation both times) is copy/pasting the phrase he read/heard somewhere else without understanding it himself. Still, if it's right... I'd like to know.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
02-07-2014, 09:42 PM
RE: Uhm... what?
(02-07-2014 09:06 PM)OddGamer Wrote:  So I'm debating things elsewhere <whistles innocently> and came across a phrase in a counter to me.

"The phrase, 'Extraordinary claims require extraordinary proof/evidence,' suggests the contiguity of metaphysical essentialism."

Up until this point I understood every word the other person was saying. Then my brain melted. I tried to look up the individual terms, the phrase as a whole, but I can't make heads nor tails of what the heck this is supposed to mean, or why it is "fallacious reasoning because no human organism or even a super computer can truly decipher this or even describe it".

Sadcryface

I admit I'm a philosophy noob.

Incidentally, I half suspect the person who used it (who repeated it twice without explanation both times) is copy/pasting the phrase he read/heard somewhere else without understanding it himself. Still, if it's right... I'd like to know.