Ultimate Accountability and The Loss of Free Will

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
14-08-2011, 04:54 AM

Ultimate Accountability and The Loss of Free Will
I have recently started thinking about a subject that I have not seen discussed on YouTube or in literature (although I am positive it is out there somewhere). Here is my argument:

It is my position that ultimate accountability to God negates free will. In order for free will to be truly "free", our decision to hold a belief and to accept or reject God cannot have an eternal reward or punishment, as a truly sincere belief is not born out of coercion. God's system of ultimate accountability is fundamentally flawed, for it destroys free will and makes genuine belief impossible.

I have foreseen several counter arguments to my claim, which I have addressed in a lengthy essay. In fact, the more I began to think about this subject the more holes I had to plug. Admittedly, I am new to philosophy and never had the chance to take it in college. Could anyone point me to a resource on this subject or would anyone like to read my essay and provide feedback? (I am not sure if I should post the entire essay here).

Thank you.
Quote this message in a reply
14-08-2011, 09:49 AM
RE: Ultimate Accountability and The Loss of Free Will
(14-08-2011 04:54 AM)DiscoveringReligion Wrote:  ...sure if I should post the entire essay here...
Post a link

Observer

Agnostic atheist
Secular humanist
Emotional rationalist
Disclaimer: Don’t mix the personal opinion above with the absolute and objective truth. Remember to think for yourself. Thank you.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
14-08-2011, 02:07 PM
You could save yourself a lot of effort by asking what kind of/which god you're supposed to answer to, evaluating the chosen god's reputation, and deciding whether he has the credibility and/or moral right to take you to task.