Unresolved anger from religion

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
26-03-2014, 11:51 AM
Unresolved anger from religion
As I've been looking inward more and more lately, I've come to realize that I have a few unresolved issues from my theist days that I am having trouble letting go of.

The first is my lack of education. I am woefully uneducated on many things, I never went to college past Community College because I refused to go to a religious school and my parents wouldn't pay for anything else. This has left me with huge knowledge gaps in things like science and technology. I am completely self taught in both fields and have a great understanding of some really complex topics, but there are still times when I have to look up something that is rather basic when learning about new concepts. It's infuriating to me that I don't know things that I would have been taught in a intro to physics class. All because some backwoods preacher convinced my parents that science is the debil... FUCK!

The other thing is this anger that boils inside me every time my family starts talking about religion. They are not polite about non-christians. Even the few that know I'm an atheist will still do it just to poke at me. They'll start a dinner conversation about how some atheist is trying to get X religious article out of a courthouse, or whatever, and then start going on about ALL atheists being dickheads with nothing better to do. The most infuriating thing about it is that they THINK that they're trying to re-convert me by showing me how terrible atheists are. Dodgy Fucking seriously?

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRGH! FUCK!

Ok, I'm gonna take some deep breaths right now and calm the fuck down. Those of you who never had to deal with religion growing up, you have my fiercest jealousy right now.

Excuse me, I'm making perfect sense. You're just not keeping up.