Upset

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
14-08-2013, 08:35 AM
Upset
So, this is going to be a long post.

Some context: I'm 23, living with my 19 year old brother and 29 year old boyfriend away from my hometown. I'm in my 4th year of college, my brother is in his first. Mom and Dad are paying our way through college, Boyfriend has a job. The three of us have been living together for about six months, prior to this I lived with a roommate for like 2 years and then alone for another 2. I've been dating Boyfriend for about four and a half years.

Things are not going well with Brother. I don't want to say he's a little spoiled piece of shit, but he kind of is. He's always had our mom cleaning up after him, and I'm really used to being on my own. He makes a mess and then gets mad when I tell him to clean it up. Cooks always for just himself and then gets mad if I cook for just Boyfriend and I. I had to tell him TWICE not to leave the bidet filthy after using it (this is a bidet). I could go on.

Last night my mom called and basically asked me if Boyfriend beats me. What triggered her suspicions was that I fell out of touch with my old roommate (the one I lived with about three years ago and had to move out because I couldn't stand her anymore. Mom knew of this at the time), with an old highschool friend that lives nearby, and now with Brother. I never really had a solid relationship with my brother. Her reasoning was that I started dating Boyfriend, then I got fed up with Old Roommate and moved out, then I kind of fell out of touch with Old Highschool Friend and now things with Brother are shitty. And since abusive relationships begin with isolating the victim, she thought this was happening to me. Mind you, these events happened over the course of four and a half years.