Venting

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
04-08-2014, 07:10 PM
Venting
Hey yall, I've been listening to Seth's podcasts for a few months now, though this is my first time posting on the thinking atheist forum. I love your work Seth (if you happen to read this Seth, you're awesome Smile ) I had some things I wanted to get off my chest.

For some background on me, I'm 24 years old guy living in the great state of Alabama (or as dad refers to it, "Alabamer"). Its very much your bible belt state, most everyone believes in Yahweh, though I am starting to see more atheists now days (could just be because I'm exposing myself to more atheists though). I love sweet tea and Alabama football (Roll Tide!). I'm a bit a techie, I love reading up on the newest technology coming out, especially with computers and video games.

Anyway, I'm kind of in a weird transitional phase of my life. I just finished college, started a new job (today actually Big Grin), and am ready to start life as a young responsible adult. I'm trying to have an optimistic about what the future may hold, but there are some things that have me down.

My family are conservative Christians. I do not think they would disown me or talk down to me if I told them I was an atheist now, but it would strain our relationship. I will tell them, but I'm not rushing to do so. I want to settle down a little bit before dropping the A bomb on them. This isn't too big of an issue for me right now.

I guess what I've really be yearning for as of late is meaningful connections with people...I want to make new friends and find a girl who at least accepts me as a non believer Blush.....