Was Jesus Sexist?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
07-11-2016, 10:58 AM
Was Jesus Sexist?
My background is a former life of deeply entrenched Catholicism and one thing that was fairly unanimous was that women were NOT allowed to be priests, bishops, cardinals, deacons, or any other such thing. Those offices in the church were supposed to be the embodiment of Jesus who was male. And thats about where the reasoning ends.

One of the biggest proofs Catholics use that women are not allowed to hold these offices is that Jesus never appointed a woman. Yet at the same time Catholics boast that they are the one religion that regrades women the most being that they have a very special place for Mary in their prayer services and rituals.

In my view, a priest is a spiritual leader, a healer, and a confidant. There is nothing about your physical body that would deter you from being a spiritual leader unless you were in a coma I suppose. Nothing about the physicality of a male body seems to give them an upper hand over a female physical body in leading prayers, saying the mass, or administering sacraments. Id have to assume it has something to do with the physical since its so specific to males.

But god as the father (in Catholic theology) is genderless...so is the 3rd person the spirit (or ghost). The aspect of god that has gender is Jesus.

Another fun tidbit is that you do NOT need to be a priest or any precursor office to be elected as a cardinal. You could be a dad, a plummer, a zookeeper or a FEMALE. There are no rules against women being elected and even while some Catholics have admitted to this, they still dont want women as Cardinals (not like it would ever happen since the Catholic church hierarchy is all men).