What in hell is going on?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
27-12-2011, 01:16 PM
What in hell is going on?
Merry Christmas, and whatever other holidays you celebrated this week, everyone! I'm a musician and performed at 4 Catholic Christmas services this year. During the 3rd one, I started thinking about heaven and hell (go figure). I started digging on the web and found several sites describing hell, and found that some of the sites view hell as not a place of torture, but of just death and separation from god. Even William Lane Craig is saying that hell isn't about physical torture, rather, you just don't live eternally with the Almighty. Then of course, there are many sites dedicated to the purpose of scaring the shit out of you so you will become a Christian. But is it just me, or is the overall Christian view turning to the less violent notion that hell is just death and not being with god? In any case, I came to this conclusion: If you are a Christian, and you have any friends who don't accept Jesus as their savior, you know they are going to hell. How, then, can Heaven be total happiness and no suffering if your friends/loved ones are not with you, and you know those friends/loved ones are suffering for all eternity? Do you just accept it and move on? Does god erase those people from your memory? Does he erase hell from your memory? Any way you slice it, if you have knowledge that those people existed and aren't with you, how could that not make you sad? For all eternity?
Thoughts? Anyone? Atheists? Christians? Other religious?

"Religion is the binky of a teen-age humanity."
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
27-12-2011, 01:29 PM
RE: What in hell is going on?
Good stuff... Eternal weeping for your loved ones that didn't make it.