What's really been grinding my gears lately..

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
25-09-2012, 09:09 AM
What's really been grinding my gears lately..
I've been working at a Dollar General for about two years. I live in a small town in Northeastern Missouri (est. pop. 17,000) in the middle of nowhere. Essentially, we are the big fish in the small pond. So, in rural America it is to be expected that a majority of people are either lower or lower-middle class. Which, at least from what I've observed, is mostly true. Simply because of this fact, it is also expected that most of these people are benefiting from social programs. This is perfectly fine with me; I am more than happy to pay taxes so people who have less of an opportunity than I do can provide for their families. I do take into account that my view of people may be somewhat biased because DG is a place where lower-level income people are going to come for groceries and such. DG is pretty much the small form of Wal-Mart. The epitome of Chinese made cheap crap and junk. Though lately the company has been making an effort to overall improve by expanding stores and trying to get away from that chintzy feel. Sometimes I feel dirty working there knowing the big wigs are outsourcing...