What took me so long?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
22-02-2015, 12:52 PM
What took me so long?
Hi guys,

I'm a 35 y/o engineer from South Africa, finally deciding to join the forum following my deconversion sometime last year after a 10 year journey out of my former faith. You know, the church band playing christian becoming a moderate christian, followed by the idea that maybe all those other gods are really just one and the same, eventually ending up thinking only that there must be something or someone out there. That's the limbo state I was in for about a decade.

I'm convinced the internet played the most important role in shaking me out of that lazy position, along with a very small number of atheist acquaintances. Even as a deist, I enjoyed atheists on Youtube destroying creationist arguments, and eventually the crystal clear logic of the likes of Dawkins, Hitchens and others started making it's mark. I started reading their books, finally uttering the words "I am an Atheist" during the audiobook version of "The Greatest Show on Earth: The Evidence for Evolution."

Since then, I've been soaking up every bit of information I can find. I've listened to probably 60% of all the TTA podcasts, watched dozens of The Atheist Experience episodes, and read more Dawkins, Hitchens, Harris, Andrews (go Seth!) etc.

I'm still an infant in this world of rational though. It might sounds strange coming from an engineer (surely that's part of what we do?), but I still live in a world where those around me are devout believers, and I'm getting to grips with the reactions of loved ones. I've disclosed my position to only a few close friends, but have not yet broken the news to my family. I don't know when or if I ever will - I struggle with this a lot. I feel so excited about this new "Truth" that I found, but shy away at the thought of hurting those dearest to me.

Ok, enough with the long intro. I'm massively grateful to be able to join this community.