Where is my Activism Needed

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
01-08-2014, 11:51 AM
Where is my Activism Needed
A recent rant, perhaps inconceivable, but here it is as typed earlier today..
Atheist needed?

I am fairly new to the idea of being an Atheist or a Non-Theist, as I often say. The definition of Atheist is, One that lacks beliefs in God or Gods. While that is me to a T, I find much more comfort in the word than that simplistic meaning. I am proud to be atheist and of the community that surrounds. I am most definitely a Humanist as well. I have immersed myself in this community so deeply that I have identified myself in such a way, good or bad, that has now become my cause.

I have always been one to go against the grain and to find something outside the norm to fight for. Quite unsuccessfully I was and am a supporter of the decriminalization of drugs, most specifically Marijuana. While promoting Marijuana as a substance that shouldn't qualify as illegal I was using it in a state that didn’t allow it. I got caught eventually and served 135 days in a County Incarceration Facility or Jail. This fight, while I believe is still a noble fight is only one I can now support from the outside.

During my incarceration I discovered that I needed a new cause. I had been dabbling in YouTube Videos of The Atheist Experience, and discovering podcasts like The Thinking Atheist. I do well when I have a title or reason for my life. Supporting the idea of Secularism Humanism as an Atheist is my cause.

I have listened to countless hours of Audio, Read a number of books and have stayed up many a night watching YouTube videos. While I believe I have a good idea of what to argue to Christians and have lost most of the impulsive fears instilled in me as a child growing up in Christianity, I feel it is time to step my game up.