"Why Do I Need Religion To Be A Good Person?" Answer: You Don't

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
08-06-2014, 11:30 PM
"Why Do I Need Religion To Be A Good Person?" Answer: You Don't
I often get asked this question a lot by people when they ask me about being a Buddhist. A conversation on this usually goes something like this:

Person: Why do I need religion to be a good person?

Me: You don't.

Person: But you believe in the existence of a god or gods?

Me: No, I do not.

Person: Isn't The Buddha your god?

Me: No, he is not a God. I have no gods. The Buddha was a mortal man like the rest of us. I am a student of his teachings.

Person: So, you're Buddhist, but you're also an atheist?

Me: Yes.

Person: So why be a Buddhist? Do you feel the need to follow some religion in order to be a good person?

Me: Of course not! Being a Buddhist is my own personal journey that I have chosen. Nobody has to take the same path as me. I think we all have to find our own path to happiness. No person needs to study The Buddha's teachings to do this. I have personally chosen to become a student of his teachings. I have come across many wonderful people, many of whom were not Buddhists. They understood the importance of compassion, and how good deeds pass on positive feelings for others. They understood that happiness does not come from stepping on others and treating them as though they are below us.

Person: So what is the one true path to happiness?

Me: There isn't one. You must find your own path.

This usually results in more confusion. People seem to have an obsession with trying to find an ideal way of achieving happiness. They want to have a foolproof set of rules that they can follow. It doesn't work that way. We are all individuals, and what works for me may not work for the next person. There is nothing wrong with that, but many people seem so confused by this.

Live, Love, and Learn Smile
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply