Why are you here, kingschosen and Aliza, etc.?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
17-09-2016, 12:30 PM
Why are you here, kingschosen and Aliza, etc.?
About two years ago, I joined some Christian forums for a few reasons. On one of the forums, I joined as an open atheist, trying to engage in a dialogue to dispel grossly stereotypical views of nonbelievers. I was courteous and honest. Why? Because, as a lifelong journalist, my default position is to inform and educate. I'm tired of living in a country where people look down on us pretty much more than any other group.

So I thought, hey, if I can take some time to chat with believers to show them I'm just as acceptable and moral as them, maybe they could start to open their eyes and, eventually, ears. If a pleasant consequence of this were to be some people actually using rational thought and maybe hopping off the fence onto my side, that'd be cool. But I wasn't there to question anyone's faith or deconvert them. I did one of those, "Ask an atheist" threads and got a few responders. But I was promptly banned on Day 2, despite the forum rules allowing for all beliefs and opinions.

Why did I do that? Because I support the separation of church and state and would like to have all believers understand that and why they should be in favor of that as well. As for the other Christian forums, I didn't say I was an atheist but I did answer questions and post comments with rational thought using critical thinking skills. I was banned on Day 1.