Wife Can't be with an Atheist

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
28-10-2015, 01:12 AM
Hey,

So.. I've been meaning to come here - but unfortunately i I've been spurred due to an unfortunate recent event. About 6 months ago, my wife and I had a pretty bad fight about me losing my religion. We both left with different understandings. I was still sliding away, she thought I was fine.

I do Podcasts for a living, and tonight I came out as a full blown atheist. I just went through the information. She was hurt pretty bad. The phrases:

* I don't know that We can be together
* I can't talk to you when it comes to God Anymore
* What is going to happen to our kids?

She wanted to talk about it and my reasoning, then got mad when I gave my reasoning. Stuff commonly seen in her retorts.. 'Well just because science can't prove it..', 'Well if my connection with god is reproducible, so is your love for me! So.. '

I don't know, it's less then 2 hours since we had the fight and 2 am in the morning.. I know it just needs time and she needs to come to grips - doesn't help when I want to sleep.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
28-10-2015, 05:05 AM
RE: Wife Can't be with an Atheist
Welcome to TTA.

I'm guessing you're asleep now and won't see this reply until your morning.

The problem seems to be a fundamental difference regarding views of identity.

You see yourself a person who has beliefs (or lack of) whereas she seems to see you as a set of beliefs that inhabit a person.

If you want to save the relationship, it's a case of convincing her that you are the same person who has changed beliefs ... not the other way around.

[+] 4 users Like DLJ's post
28-10-2015, 05:12 AM
Just give in to Jesus. Be filled with the Holy Spirit brother and you will know the truth.
28-10-2015, 06:17 AM
(28-10-2015 05:05 AM)DLJ Wrote:  Welcome to TTA.

I'm guessing you're asleep now and won't see this reply until your morning.