Wife is believe, I am not...

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
11-03-2015, 10:10 AM
Wife is believe, I am not...
Hey gang. First post and excited to be here.

My wife is a pharmacist and very smart, educated woman. That being said, she clings to the archaic belief in a god of the universe. I am a nurse and have worked in research and regulatory at a Fortune 500 pharmaceutical company. I am an atheist. Needless to say, this has caused issues.

From the get go, conversations about this have resulted in her crying and saying something to the effect of "I'm sad because I you will be in hell and I'll be in heaven and I can't deal with that". Whatever.

I reluctantly agreed to start attending church to placate her and ease her fears. I think she thinks that I'm not at least open to the idea (to be clear...I am not), but at this point I'm just happy that she's not pestering me.

I would love nothing more than to tell her my true feelings about this. On one hand, I am optimistic that I can use the year of attending church in my favor and say that I at least tried to understand. My fear is that she is going to 1.) ignore all arguments to support the case for atheism, 2.) start spouting logical fallacies that I'll be forced to point out, and 3.) threaten me with leaving b/c she needs someone that can support her in her faith and be the "spiritual head of the household" or some bullshit.

Any thoughts?
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
11-03-2015, 11:10 AM
RE: Wife is believe, I am not...
Welcome to TTA.

I confess I'm curious as to how someone so well educated and working in a science-based field can still hold to belief in the supernatural.

Is this a case of compartmentalism or does she use faith-based reasoning for all decisions in her life?

Consider

I think that success would either involve agreeing to disagree or to slowly and carefully chip away at the 'faith' aspect of her thinking processes.