World War II.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
07-06-2016, 05:54 PM
World War II.
This is a thread where people can discuss every aspect of WWII. From Hitler's election, to the embargo on Japan, to Japan's insult at Australia's White Australia Policy, the invasion of Poland, machinery, Japan's quest for empire, everything.

I'll ask the first question.

What do you believe was the most important event that began WWII, and why?

NOTE: Member, Tomasia uses this site to slander other individuals. He then later proclaims it a joke, but not in public.
I will call him a liar and a dog here and now.
Banjo.
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 3 users Like Banjo's post
07-06-2016, 09:04 PM (This post was last modified: 07-06-2016 09:11 PM by Fatbaldhobbit.)
RE: World War II.
I am not an expert by any means, but:

I would blame the rise of fascism, but I don't know if I'm knowledgeable enough to defend that statement.

There is also the settlements/armistice/reparations and general fallout from the end of World War I.

ETA:

To the why:

I think the way the countries were divided after WWI caused a great many problems and hard feelings. The harsh financial reparations against Germany added fuel to Hitler's agenda and gave him a scapegoat.

The problems of the Fascists all over Europe seem pretty evident. Are Soviet Russia and Imperial Japan considered fascist? Not sure.

I would venture that the US should have been more involved in European affairs, hopefully in a positive way, but I'm not sure that would have been appreciated or even possible.

One interesting thought is: If nuclear weapons had not been invented, how many more world wars would we have fought?

Help for the living. Hope for the dead. ~ R.G. Ingersoll

Freedom offers opportunity. Opportunity confers responsibility. Responsibility to use the freedom we enjoy wisely, honestly and humanely. ~ Noam Chomsky
[+] 1 user Likes Fatbaldhobbit's post
07-06-2016, 09:32 PM