You know what really grinds my gears?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
16-08-2010, 10:46 PM (This post was last modified: 17-08-2010 02:33 AM by ebilekittae.)
You know what really grinds my gears?
Sorry for the entirely cliché subject line, but it's a pretty good summation of the content of my post.

I very recently (six days ago, not even a full week) came out to my Conservative Fundamentalist Reformed Southern Baptist (what a title) family about being an atheist, and (while possibly a bad choice) being a homosexual while I was at it. I chose to do this on Facebook for the impersonality of it, knowing that my family's reaction would be less than... encouraging. While no harm came unto me physically (I'm actually studying abroad on the opposite side of the world from my family), I was immediately jumped on by both my father and my brother.

Now, to shed a bit of light on all of this, I, myself, had been a CFRSB (the abbreviation is much easier to type indeed) until December 30, 2009. This was relatively recently, but far enough away that I know well enough (enough, not entirely, but enough) what I'm talking about, not to mention the more than a half a year (since the end of May to the beginning of June of 2009 range) of silently doubting and observing. My family (especially my father) is DEEP into Christian apologetics, so I've heard them all. Still, I doubted and researched and I found the apologetics to be outright WRONG or at the very least misguided and undereducated about evolutionary biology, geology, and astronomy. The point here is, this was a very slow and careful process I'd gone through with no emotional "I HATE YOU GOD!!!" phase involved (although those can often spur someone to look for the truth).

Anyway, my dad sends me an e-mail of course denying that I'm a homosexual on the basis that I have a penis (no joke) and claims that all homosexuals (now including me) go to atheism because they hate god for not letting them play in their sin.