a conversation today at work

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
19-08-2014, 03:08 PM (This post was last modified: 19-08-2014 03:28 PM by goodwithoutgod.)
Wink a conversation today at work
So let me set the stage, for those who don't know, I am an officer in the US Navy. The rules are in the military that as a representative of the US government, we can not identify one religion over the other, and in no way can "support" one view or another officially. What they can do, and do very well, is employ chaplains from different faiths who work in the chapel and provide services, counseling etc for those who wish to attend. I am used to seeing an occasional "all hands email" come out of their office advertising this or that so people know when they want, if they want, to participate in whatever delusion makes them happy. In a nut shell, the rules are very strict outside of that.

As an officer, we have separate messing (place to eat) so we can relax and talk shop outside of the hearing of junior personnel, and sometimes that can go a bit wild. We got a new senior chaplain on board and he is excited to be here....he must have sent out 10 emails in a day about this or that service. Then you can't walk 15 feet without viewing a 2 foot by 3 foot poster stating: CHRISTIAN FELLOWSHIP WORKSHOP, or some other delusional propaganda advertisement. The problem is, even though we have rules, no one wants to be the guy to point it out and make the situation uncomfortable.....enter me into the equation.

So the 5 of us (1 senior officer, 3 warrants and a new LT, we all work in the same department)were sitting down to lunch, as I sat down I was shaking my head because there was yet another sign right next to my seat on the wall. Here is how it went:

T: Hey bro, what's wrong?
Me: I dunno, it would be nice if I could walk five fucking feet and not have to view a christian mythology propaganda poster. Just a bit excessive don't you think?
T: What are you a Wiccan?