calling kindney drs

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
21-02-2017, 09:51 PM
calling kindney drs
My daughter who is pregnant with a little boy and she found out yesterday that he has cysts in his kidneys and neither have any function at all. I don't know much about this and need to know what is going on and what they normally do? So worried thanks
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
22-02-2017, 09:05 PM
RE: calling kindney drs
i'm by no means a medical doctor but to my knowledge, the kidneys aren't really needed until birth. not sure if they can be repaired before birth by bodily mechanisms but all is not lost just yet. if he is born live he may need dialysis until he can get donor kidneys. my guess is that your daughter will be advised not to subject herself to an unreasonable risk of infection or blood toxins and maybe meds could help the fetus but i only have a slight grasp of the biology behind it. what i do know is the kidneys filter blood but since he currently shares a bloodstream with your daughter, her kidneys will work for him until birth
22-02-2017, 09:44 PM
Hugs to you.

I think your daughter should speak with her doctors about this. They know what's going on and have access to her medical records and can suggest the right plan of care. An internet forum is not a good place to look for medical advice. Go right to the source--your daughter's doctors. I know it's scary but they have years of training and experience and can make the right calls regarding your daughter and baby's health.
[+] 4 users Like jennybee's post
22-02-2017, 10:08 PM
As Jenny says, you'll be wanting to speak to an expert about this, not us knuckleheads.