how religions view atheism

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
08-02-2013, 10:05 AM
how religions view atheism
i was hoping some of you could help me out. i am a college student taking a class in comparative religions and we have a paper that we have to write across the semester on any subject related to religion that we want. i would like to write mine of how different religions treat atheism. more specifically i am trying to find info on christianity, judaism, islam, hinduism, and buddhism and the way that they treat disbelief. i am having some trouble finding reliable sources especially on the last two. if you know of anything that could help let me know. thanks everyone
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
08-02-2013, 10:43 AM
RE: how religions view atheism
All the religions you mention except buddhism accept the idea of a deity in control. Buddhism is controversial in that most or many of the buddhism religious don't consider it a religion or at least feel they are atheistic and buddha was 'just a man that became enlightened and all knowing', but that there is no supreme being(s) in control (just a higher consciousness). Buddhism is a 'way of life' (in their eyes).
08-02-2013, 10:45 AM
(08-02-2013 10:43 AM)LadyJane Wrote:  All the religions you mention except buddhism accept the idea of a deity in control. Buddhism is controversial in that most or many of the buddhism religious don't consider it a religion or at least feel they are atheistic and buddha was 'just a man that became enlightened and all knowing', but that there is no supreme being(s) in control (just a higher consciousness). Buddhism is a 'way of life' (in their eyes).

Well, yeah, except for all that karma and reincarnation crap.

Skepticism is not a position; it is an approach to claims.
Science is not a subject, but a method.
[Image: flagstiny%206.gif]
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
08-02-2013, 11:28 AM
(08-02-2013 10:45 AM)Chas Wrote: