struggling...(long bio)

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
07-04-2013, 10:51 PM
struggling...(long bio)
Like the title says, this is gonna b kinda long so don't say I didn't warn u. Anyway, I've been struggling with the big questions lately. I'm not exactly new to atheism. Ive been religion free for about three years now but lately I just can't get my mind off this stuff.
Reality just seems so cold and dry. And our entire existence is really pointless. Life has only what ever meaning u decide to give it. And I can't seem to give any reason or meaning to mine. I'm just a spec of dust in this universe, the size of which is difficult for me to fathom. I'm alive just because.. and its depressing.
I've heard all the usual answers: " join a club" " pick up a hobby" " ect...". But it's not that simple. On the outside you wouldn't even know that I think about these things. I'm a full time student and work a part time job. I stay plenty busy but, like I said, I don't see a point to any of this.
I still hold on to some hope that I'll find something one day. And that I won't lay on my death bed thinking my life was worthless. I wish I didn't think about any of this. That I was a normal person that could just live their life and enjoy "all the little things". But I can't. I feel like our society is a giant machine of which I'm just one of billions of gears. And once I've served my purpose I'll b yanked out out of the machine and replaced by two new gears.
I was wondering if anybody here felt the same way or had any helpful suggestions?
Find all posts by this user
Like Post Quote this message in a reply
[+] 2 users Like nobody's post
07-04-2013, 11:52 PM
RE: struggling...(long bio)
The following is from DLJ:

The PURPOSE of life is to pass on our DNA (from Darwin)
The MEANING of life is the experience of living (from Frank Herbert)
The VALUE of life is the legacy we leave behind (from observation)

My personal suggestion is to find a girl who loves you and whom you love.